Gluten-Free and Low-Gluten Grains

There is a lot of confusion out there about which grains are and are not gluten free.  This is compounded by the fact that some grains (like oatmeal) are inherently gluten-free, but are often times contaminated by wheat during processing; or that some gluten-free grains (like buckwheat) misleadingly have the word “wheat” in their name.

Below, you’ll find a list of all common gluten-free grains.  Wondering if a gluten-free diet is for you?  Check out Food Focus: Should You Go Gluten-Free?

** As I mentioned, most oats are typically processed in plants that also process wheat, which contaminates the finished product.  If you have Celiac’s disease, or a serious gluten allergy, you should definitely avoid all oats and oatmeals that are not explicitly listed as gluten-free (for example, Bob’s Red Mill makes delicious gluten-free rolled oats!).  However, if you have a light sensitivity, or are simply avoiding gluten as a personal preference, oats are safe to eat, as the amount of the contamination isn’t too high.

Check out some great gluten-free recipes:
Delicious Gluten-Free Breakfasts
The Organic Beauty Healthy Vegetarian, Vegan, and Gluten-Free Recipes

For those that just have a light wheat sensitivity, there are lots of delicious low-gluten grains that are much for easily digestible.  Grains like spelt, farro, rye, and true sourdough are lower in gluten or contain beneficial enzymes that break down the gluten for you, making them easier to digest!  Sprouted whole wheat, like that found in Ezekiel bread products, can also be much easier to digest!